abc-clio-logo_web.png

ABC CLIO All Databases

Search all ABC-CLIO databases in one search bar; American History, World History Ancient/ Medieval, World History Modern, Issues, World at War, Geography.

abc-clio_solutions_db_amhist_banner.jpg

ABC-CLIO American History

American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation's rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture and thought as they tell one continuous and continuing story of America's history.

abc-clio_solutions_db_worldhistancient_b

ABC-CLIO World History: Ancient / Medieval

comprehensive study of the emergence of the modern world, covering the history of the world from 1500 to the present.

abc-clio-geography.jpg

ABC CLIO World Geography

 Focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. 

Issues.jpg

ABC CLIO Issues

Brings important issues in today's world to students' attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each.

abc-clio_solutions_db_worldatwar_banner.

ABC CLIO World At War

Presents overviews of 50 wars, rebellions, and revolutions, both those commonly taught and those less so, and provides additional analysis of causes and consequences and portraits of opponents. 

psx.png

Gale: Power Search

platform offers comprehensive access to authoritative reference, periodical and primary source information. ... PowerSearch 2.0 simplifies browsing through Gale's more than 20,000 publications, providing the ability to search across more than 150 million documents.

suic.png

Gale: High School

The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 

galemiddle.png

Gale: Middle School

Age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.

new_york_state_newspapers.png

Gale: New York Newspapers

Offers over 2,000 full-text
newspapers that include several New York State newspapers.

 

hrca.png

Gale: Health & Medicine

 Provides access to
the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus select consumer health information sources, and thousands of health related multimedia

cdb.png

Gale: Computer Science 

Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.

prof.png

Gale: Educator's Reference Complete

Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. Also contains federal and international reports and publications, including full-text for many titles cited in ERIC

gvrl.png

Gale: Virtual Reference Library: EBOOKS

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

gale-business-insights-essential.png

Gale: Business Insights

This comprehensive database brings together a wide variety of global business information including company profiles, industry/market research reports, investment/brokerage reports from Thomson Reuters, and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. It contains full text from over 8,100 periodical titles. 

whic.png

Gale: World History

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

litrc.png

Gale: Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

National Geographic Virtual Library

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. 

Dax56xS__400x400.jpg

World Book Online

Online Encyclopedia includes 40000 of encyclopedia articles & many other great reference tools. 

BritannicaSchool.jpg

Britannica: School

A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.

britannicaEscolar.png

Britannica: Escolar

Discover the leading knowledgebuilding resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish

BritannicaAcademic.png

Britannica: Academic

The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that college students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource. Articles provide high-quality, comprehensive, trusted information with
balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.

9780816041909.jpg

Infobase: American History

Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

onlineL.jpg

Infobase Streaming Videos

Provides thousands of K-12 multimedia resources, including videos and clips, interactives, images, audio files, worksheets, and more.

facts on file.png

Infobase: Facts on Files Issues and Controversies

Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

newsbank.jpg

Newsbank

NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.

cmn1_J75_400x400.jpg

Cap. Region BOCES Insignia

This service offers resources that correlate with the New York State, Common Core, and Next Generation Learning Standards in all content areas. Easy online access is offered for digital streaming videos, as well as for borrowing Text Sets, "Jackdaws", and Plush and Book Pairs.

Camerons-Collection-Collage2.jpg

Camerons Collection

E-Books Supporting Teen Mental Health and Wellness

Research Rocket

ResearchRocket provides relevant articles about all curricular areas through appropriate content for all reading levels. Through easy access students can find information for their class assignments and research while teachers can locate suitable content to support their lesson plans and classroom discussions.

epoints.png

EPointPlus

Over 6,000 web-hosted eBooks offer curriculum-based, high-interest fiction and nonfiction content that meets with national and state curriculum standards, as well as Common Core standards. Featuring 24/7 unlimited simultaneous access and iPad, Android tablet, smartphone, and Chromebook compatibility for use anytime, anywhere, epointplus is the BEST eBook solution! Individual accounts allow for users to save their work with notebook features such as making freehand drawings, creating reminders, taking notes, and highlighting text passages.

rosenlearning_edited.jpg

Rosen Learning Center

Interactive E-Book Collection

bicentennial-400px.png

NYS Library Education Websites

Internet resources for Books & Magazines, Careers & Jobs, Educational Resources, Genealogy, Health, History, New York (state), Newspapers, Research, Science

SnUtByCZ_400x400.jpg

JSTOR

Academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines

Noodletools

Online Research Management platform: citation, annotation, source archiving, note-taking, outlining

salem press.png

Salem Press

The online.salempress.com site that provides access to content from Salem Press print titles to purchasers of those print titles is owned and copyright protected by Grey House Publishing

PQRClogo.jpg

Proquest Research Companion

Information literacy product, created to help young researchers find, evaluate, and use information more effectively. Nine multi-media based learning modules and seven interactive tools.

culturegrams.png

Culturegrams

Links students to country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture. In-depth reports covering 200+ countries, the United States, and Canada

28fyrU5y_400x400.jpg

Proquest

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎  (1851 - 2014)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant‎  (1764 - 1993) 

sirs-issues-researcher-square-logo (1).png

SIRS Issues Researcher

Current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. 

primarysourceswordle.png
LibraryofCongress.png

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

observe_reflect_question_300dpi.png

Primary Source Analysis Tool

Use this tool to record your responses to a primary source. If you need guidance, use the sample questions. Feel free to go back and forth between the columns; there is no correct order.

©2020 by Schenectady High School Library Learning Commons, Schenectady City School District